Skip To The Main Content

The hunt is on for the best small business in the South West of England

The search is on for the South West’s most outstanding small businesses via a major new awards competition.

Britain’s biggest business representation group the FSB (Federation of Small Businesses) has launched the ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards 2018’ which will culminate in both regional and national finals.

Small businesses throughout the South West England will battle it out for prizes across 12 different categories and both FSB members and non-members alike have until December 1 to enter the awards for free. 

The awards will celebrate the best of the South West’s 220,000 small businesses and their vast contribution they make to both regional and national economies. 

The South West regional winners will be announced at an awards ceremony early next year and will then go forward to the national UK ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards’ final, where the overall FSB UK Small Business of the Year 2018 will be announced in May 2018. 

Andrew Postlethwaite the FSB regional chairman for Devon encouraged local businesses to get involved in the new awards and try to win both regional and national honours.
“We know that the South West has some fantastic, innovative businesses and it would be great to see as many of them as possible enter the ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards’. 

“SMEs are a vital part of the South West contributing so much to the economy and making our region a more exciting place in which to live, work, study and visit. This is our chance to recognise the best of the best.”

The 12 ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards’ categories are: 

• Business Exporter of the Year
• Ethical – Green Business of the Year
• Business and Product Innovation Award 
• Digital Business of the Year
• Microbusiness of the Year 
• Start-up of the Year
• Scale-up of the Year 
• Family Business of the Year
• Young Entrepreneur of the Year
• Employer of the Year
• The Triumph Over Adversity Award
• Community Award (S West area level only)  

For further information and to enter the awards visit